What were the seven commandments in “Animal Farm”?

In “Animal Farm”, the seven commandments were a set of regulations that the animals on the farm created and agreed upon to live by after the revolution. These rules were meant to create a fair and just society that would protect the animals from the oppression they had previously experienced under humans. The commandments included: 1. Anything with two legs is an enemy. 2. Anything with four legs or wings is a friend. 3. No animal shall wear clothes. 4. No animal shall sleep in a bed. 5. No animal shall drink alcohol. 6. No animal shall kill any other animal. 7. All animals are equal. These commandments were designed to prevent any form of exploitation and to make sure all animals had an equal share of the farm’s resources. However, as the story progresses, the pigs, who become the ruling class, gradually alter and manipulate the commandments. Eventually, the original seven commandments are replaced by a single commandment: “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” This change reflects the pigs’ increasing power and their willingness to use the commandments to justify their actions. Throughout the book, the commandments are used as a tool of propaganda and manipulation, and their corruption is a reflection of the pigs’ transformation into tyrants. By the end of the book, the commandments have been completely rewritten, and the original ideals of the revolution have been betrayed. The seven commandments in “Animal Farm” serve as a warning against the dangers of totalitarianism and the importance of holding leaders accountable to the values they espouse.


Need someone to edit your essay paper? Hire an essay pro from us to review and polish your paper, ensuring it’s free of errors and ready for submission. With our affordable prices and fast turnaround times, you can rest assured your essay will be in good hands.